Established in 1878, The Australian Club is a private gentlemen’s club and was one of nine that emerged in Melbourne during the 19th century.
Many of those clubs, including the first built, the Melbourne Club, were at the east end of the city, and any wet weather made it difficult for members west of Elizabeth St to access them easily, so 88 merchants, lawyers, bankers and squatters banded together to establish the club at 110 William St.
At the time, it was the most prominent building in Melbourne, and it remains the grandest and most intact of the clubs established in the Victorian era.
Atop the club’s magnificent façade with its striking portico and loggia, the balustraded parapet hides steep slate roofs with a cupola decorated in iron lace. Inside, a richly patterned mosaic-tiled floor leads to a grand floating marble staircase, some five metres wide and ascending three floors.
The heritage-listed clubhouse also includes a splendid main dining room with an ornate glass dome and baroque wooden fireplaces, and the finest billiards room in the city.
The members are justifiably proud of their clubhouse and its traditions of welcoming members and guests into their peaceful retreat from the noise and bustle of the city.
The club encourages members to extend a warm welcome to male and female guests, including those from its many reciprocal clubs around the world, to not only experience the elegant surrounds but also enjoy the finest cuisine and impeccable service.
The Club's enduring commitment to creating a welcoming environment for all—be it members, guests, or employees—is unwavering. It remains sanctuary where timeless traditions are cherished, and lasting friendships are nurtured in an atmosphere of warmth, respect, discretion, and grace.